While your 1st-degree connections automatically follow your posts and articles, anyone can follow you, even if they’re not in your network. You can limit followers to only your 1st-degree connections from the Settings & Privacy page. You can also opt to make Follow the primary action members see when they view your account.
To update your settings:
- Click the Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.
- Select Settings & Privacy from the dropdown.
- Click the Privacy tab at the top of the page.
- Under the Blocking and hiding section, click Change next to Followers.
- In the dropdown, select one of the following options:
- Everyone on LinkedIn – All LinkedIn members, in and outside your network, can follow your updates. This option also enables your posts to be shared off of LinkedIn.
- Your connections – Only your 1st-degree connections can follow your updates.
- Under the Make follow primary section, switch the toggle to enable Follow as the primary action.
- Toggling to Yes will display Follow as the primary action for members viewing your profile.
- Toggling to No will display Connect as the primary action for members viewing your profile.
- If you limit followers to your 1st-degree connections, followers outside your network will be removed and your follower number will be the same as your total 1st-degree connections.
- Once you select Your connections, there will no longer be a Follow button next to your posts or articles.
- If you select Your connections but later change your mind, you can restore all previous out-of-network followers by selecting Everyone on LinkedIn.
- Changes can take up to 24 hours to take effect.
Similar to what happens when you follow an Influencer, your followers will receive your posts, articles, and shares in their LinkedIn homepage feed. Members don’t have to be connected to you to follow you and receive these updates.